IGOL product labels inform you about all of the characteristics of the selected lubricant. However, it is necessary to understand the codes and names used. The first information you find is the viscosity grade:

conseil-bien-lire-etiquette-lubrifiant-huile-igolFor industrial oils, the viscosity is expressed by its ISO VG number

For transmission oils, the viscosity is expressed as a SAE J306 grade

– For engine oils, the viscosity is expressed as a SAE J300 grade

We must also take into account the fact that engine oils are classified according to their ACEA rating which is divided into categories: A, B, C and E. The number from 1 to 9 following the letter defines the level of performance. Transmission oils, on the other hand, use the API “American Petroleum Institute” classifications with GL ratings (3, 4 and 5).

Warning! Manufacturers are likely to impose their own specific requirements, which are generally improvements on the ACEA and API standards.

Did you know?
The API standards have the same purpose as the ACEA standards, but are generally used more abroad. They are divided into two categories “C” for heavy Diesel vehicles and “S” for gasoline vehicles. The further the letter following the S or C is in the alphabet, the more recent the specification.

In fact, IGOL invests and focuses on sustainable development! The company manufactures and sells the latest-generation lubricants on the market. Read about our approach in detail at: https://www.igol.com/en/research-and-development/

Back to FAQ

Focus : Produits


New product !
100% synthetic lubricant designed to meet the new Renault RN17 specification.

Focus : Services

IGOL, official partner of the FFSA

Since the 2014 season, IGOL has the honor of having joined the circle of official partners
of the FFSA and vigorously supports the French Rally Championship each season.

Focus : Produits

Moto Range : IGOL PROPULS !

IGOL presents the new generation of its range of lubricants